School Committee Reorganization May, 2019

School Committee Members May 2018

Members 2019-20

  • At the first regular School Committee meeting following the Spring Town Elections, the members reorganize in compliance with Town Charter requirements and given the possibility of new membership. Each newly elected member is sworn in by the Town Clerk, after which they may participate in the regular business of the Committee for the next three years. Members act as representative liaisons to Plymouth's schools, are appointed to many district and community subcommittees, and are recommended for appointment to many of the Town's committees -- quite a commitment! Their assignment listing for the 2019-20 school year is available here.


    Downloadable PDF of 2019-20 Liaison and Subcommittee Assignments

Dr. James R. Sorensen, Chair

  • 23 Sleepy Hollow Drive
    Plymouth, MA 02360
    Contact Dr. James Sorensen by EMail
    (508) 746-2513 Phone

    Dr. Sorensen had previously served on the Plymouth-Carver Regional School Committee from 1982-1993 and on the Plymouth School Committee from 1993-2005.  He returned to the School Committee in 2013, and has served as Chair since May, 2017.

Ms. Kim Savery Hunt, Vice Chair

  • PO Box 1518
    Plymouth, MA 02362
    Contact Ms. Hunt by Email
    (617) 861-7944 Phone

    Ms. Hunt was elected to the School Committee in 2012, and has served as Secretary from May 2014-May 2017 and Vice Chair since May 2017.

Mr. Robert P. Morgan, Secretary

  • 9 Peter Road
    Plymouth, MA 02360
    Contact Mr. Morgan by Email
    (857) 636-0201 Phone

    Mr. Morgan had previously served on School Committee from 2009-2012 as Secretary beginning May, 2010 and then as Vice Chair beginning in May, 2011.  He returned to School Committee in May, 2014 and has served as Secretary since May, 2017.

Ms. Michelle L. Badger

  • 35 Dorothy Drive
    Plymouth, MA 02360
    Contact Ms. Badger by Email
    (508) 224-3033

    Ms. Badger was first elected to School Committee in May, 2011.  She served as Vice Chair from May, 2012 until May, 2017.

Mrs. Margie C. Burgess

  • 93 Mohawk Drive
    Plymouth, MA 02360
    Contact Mrs. Burgess by Email
    (508) 728-0555

    Mrs. Burgess was first elected to School Committee in May, 1998.  She has served continuously since then as Secretary for many years and as Chair for the 2009-10 school year.

Mrs. Vedna K. Lacombe-Heywood

Mrs. Lee C. Truschelli